The basics for obtaining a Florida marriage license
While not nearly as entertaining as pretty floral and wedding gowns, today’s post is all about the ever-essential MARRIAGE LICENSE required to be legally married in the state of Florida. This is a box you absolutely must check off your planning list by the time the wedding day rolls around! From time to time we receive questions on how and where exactly one gets the license so I figured it may be time for a quick post to help our clients out.
- A marriage license can be obtained at a Florida courthouse or clerk of court office.
- Florida law requires that couples read the Family Law Handbook prior to receiving a license. Those can be found in English or Spanish.
- The fee for the marriage license is $93.50.
- You are not required to take premarital counseling before marrying. If you do choose premarital counseling, there is a reduced licensing fee of $61.00, and you will avoid the 3-day waiting period. This can be through your church, with a licensed officiant, or a marriage and family therapist. That person can provide a letter stating that you have finished premarital counseling to use as proof when you apply for your license.
- Both parties must be present to apply for the license. For Florida residents who do not have proof of premarital counseling, there will be a 3-day waiting period for the license. This means you may not actually marry until 3 days after you have applied. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents.
- For Florida weddings, you can receive a license from any county in Florida, which is good for use at a ceremony taking place anywhere in Florida.
- The license is valid for 60 days from the date issued.
- Blood test and witnesses are not required. You will need to provide documentation including two forms of identification and a Social Security number.
- If either party has been previously married, you must provide proof of date of divorce, annulment, or death.
- The person performing the ceremony is responsible for returning the signed license within 10 day of the marriage to the Clerk’s office.
- Same sex marriage is legal and recognized in Florida.
For more information and to save time by filling out the eMarriage Application before heading to the courthouse, visit the My Orange Clerk website.